Customer Reviews

It´s like having a friend in Iceland 

We knew we wanted to vacation here but beyond that I was getting overwhelmed with the options. Bjorn helped shape our various ideas of what we wanted to do into a coherent plan and booked everything we needed for the trip. During the 13 days there we had a few questions and it was so convenient to be able to text Bjorn using the local phone he supplied!

All the hotels and guesthouses were excellent choices and his suggestions of sights to see along the way gave us more than enough things to see as we traveled all around Iceland.

Friendly, knowledgeable and dependable. What more can you want?

 – Phil, June 2017

Hi Bjorn
We are at the airport waiting for the flight home and I wanted to write and thank you for what has been the trip of a lifetime.
Your knowledge and experience about the country is outstanding, and the way you planned the trips was superb.
There is no way I could have put this trip together myself. Everything ran so smoothly.
Unfortunately we had to miss yesterday's trip around the peninsular and the blue lagoon as I was unwell, but it means we will need to come back again 😃.
Iceland did not disappoint. The people are so friendly and helpful, the scenery is breathtaking, and Reykjavik kept us busy sightseeing, shopping and eating and drinking delicious things!
It has been a pleasure to have been in contact with you and if anyone I know plans to visit beautiful Iceland I will send them to you.
With warmest wishes

- Vicki, April 2017

The two days in the superjeep and driver Heimir were spectacular. Your recommendations were right on target. Heimir was attentive, easy to talk to, and fit in everything we asked for. We stretched both days to the limit, but he never made us feel rushed, or that we had asked for too much. Thanks for helping us have a perfect introduction to Iceland... and we did see the Northern Lights on my actual birthday!

It was a pleasure to have worked with you.

- Linda, February 2017

The Cool travel Iceland team made our trip perfect. I was grateful for all the services that was provided from you all. Thank you.

– Gen Singh, January 2017

So we are on our return now from our wonderful yet short trip. Nothing but praise and recommendation for the service and itinerary drawn together here. Thank you so much for the clear communication, ease of service, thoughtfulness and assistance. Everything went so well and with ease. My husband has really enjoyed his birthday surprise. We were very pleased with the Northern Lights Tour by Amazing Tours. So much better than the mini-bus Tours on offer everywhere else. The guys we had running the evening (Nori? And his brother), were engaging and interesting. They added in a visit to a waterfall. Just really cool; we felt we had lucked out having them as our guides. So thank you, I am quite sure we will use you again. Our trip was outstanding. Best wishes to all involved in working with us.

-LH, December 2016

What I appreciated most was how was easy it was to organize and book. When we received the itinerary it was reasonably priced especially when compared to what I saw when I initially tried to book the trip on my own.

I was booking this trip rather late and I turned to Cool Travel Iceland because I was discovering that a number of the hotels I was interested in were sold out. Bjorn was able to get us a reduced rate with view rooms at a beautiful new hotel. He also found us a great “guest house”. The activities he suggested weren’t one that were found in the guidebooks. Bjorn listened to what we liked and found activities to match.

-Leslie B., August 2016

Everyone was very helpful and friendly.The scenery is incredible and we were lucky to have good weather. Perhaps Iceland could find a new joke to replace What do you do if you get lost in and Icelandic forest? Stand up! The Blue Lagoon was all that it had promised. Facilities all clean and easy to use. Very relaxing and unhurried as there were plenty of buses leaving The pilot of the helicopter couldn’t believe how beautiful the day was and I think enjoyed it nearly as much as we did. I don’t think he had ever seen a snowman on top of the volcano before or had people singing in his aircraft songs like We are sitting on top of the world. The northern Lights trip was extremely well run and again nothing was too much trouble for the guides. The Lights were a bit weak but we were impressed by their photography produced on the night and the world of stars was something no longer seen in England due to our light pollution. Whale watching was well run and we were lucky enough to have 2 whales close to the boat We did only see one breed but the talks were informative and our 7 yr old enjoyed holding the vertebra on show on the boat. The sea Northern Lights cruise was cancelled due to unlikely sightings. It would have been helpful to have had earlier notice (or any notice)of cancellation to allow us to use the time more usefully. We had 2 Jeep tours, 1 to the ice caves under the glacier and the second to the Geyser and waterfall. Guides on both occasions were fine but BJ on the second tour really excelled and had anecdotes and stories for the whole journey pretty much on any subject we raised about Iceland.The break at the waterfall was a bit rushed as it was really beautiful and lunch had to be fitted in too. Lunch on the glacier tour was excellent but we were disappointed that it was not open on the way back for a hot drink. Opportunities to play in the snow were well received and another snowman on the second trip was made and there was time for a snowball fight.

The best parts ?
The trip in the helicopter

What could be better ?
Very difficult. It was all very positive. The trip in the glacier left us wondering why? It was a bit of a curiosity, but the snow and the trip across the snow was worth it.

Overall rating 5star

 

– Pat Vincent, April 2016

Started our holiday with a trip to the Blue Lagoon straight off the plane – a great way to start a 5 days touring holiday staying in the Thingholt hotel in the centre of Reykjavik. A great location close to restaurants and shops, great restaurant (the lamb fillet and the Arctic Char were particularly good) and comfortable rooms. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Trip ‘Inside the Volcano’ was particularly special – being lowered down 400ft into the base of an inactive volcano through a relatively small hole in the top was a great experience. The ‘Into the Glacier’ trip was also stunning. Heaps to do if you like the outdoor life

The best parts ?
Stunning scenery and fabulous adventure experiences on well organised, bespoke tours that delivered exactly what we were seeking

What could be better ?
Struggling to find anything that needed improvement. Bjorn was incredible. The insight and local knowledge he shared with us made the trip that extra bit special.

Holiday rating : 5 star

 

-Hugh Bourne, July 2016

A 10 day round Iceland self drive tour. Trying to see as much of the country as we could in 10 days.. Great trip, would love to go back one day..

The best: Everything worked like clockwork., great thanks to Bjorn for organising.. the country is amazing

For improvement: Some of the drives where long, but that’s our issue as we were trying to do a lot in a small amount of time..

Overall rating 5star

-Peter Wilson, July 2016

Total satisfaction with our holiday. Guesthouse Galtafell conveniently located, welcoming, clean, with excellent breakfasts. Free time in Reykjavik was very interesting….Harpa, the National Museum, Hallgrimskirka and the central area were delightful, with the entire area accessible and compact. There was a very wide choice of restaurants, with friendly staff and surprisingly acceptable prices. Group tours were excellent, AND OUR TWO INDIVIDUALLY GUIDED TOURS WERE THE MOST MEMORABLE EVER!

The best: The friendship and helpfulness of Icelandic people. Tour leaders EXCELLENT: a. Coach couriers and local guides fine (Golden Circle tour and Blue Lagoon). b. Individual guides superb: Bjorn, his wife, and an invited expert (Magnus) arranged a tour to Hvalfjorour, where my father served with the North Atlantic convoys during 1942-44: An emotional and unforgettable experience. Guajon Gudmundson led a SuperJeep journey to Myrdals-Jokull and the volcanic Mt.Katla. Another unforgettable experience.

For improvement: Departure arrangements at Keflavik Airport. Splendid new airport, but timetabling (3.30am. from our guesthouse for 7.30am flight) and overcrowded departure lounges for UK flights and transfers, brought a sad conclusion. (I have some excellent photographs, but have been unable to send them – sorry.)

Holiday rating : 5 star

-Alan Nichols, September 2016